Now wash your hands

I visited my GP recently and while I was waiting I noticed the hand hygiene information graphic on his wall.

The six stages of hand washing used by health professionals (Ayliffe et al 1978) was developed to ensure all areas of the hands are clean before treating patients. Although I always wash my hands before handling food and after visiting the toilet, I only use part of the technique shown below.

The images below are combined with the instructions wet hands and apply soap.

wash hands no text

The areas of the hands most frequently missed when we wash our hands are shown below.

missed

Both images are from the Health Protection Agency’s leaflet – advice on hand washing for the general public.

About Richard Overy

Photographer, Collector & Creative
This entry was posted in Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

