Do you still use a cassette tape or a phonograph?

Copied from Communities of Practice

This is my last blog post to Communities of Practice. The site will soon become obsolete (31st March 2012); I am sad that the CoP site is coming to an end but I’m also excited about the brand new Knowledge Hub.

The Information Graphics and Visualisation Community is migrating to the Knowledge Hub this weekend; thank you to Mike Macauley and his colleagues for creating the Hub and for their help with the migration.

Last year I discovered Jung Von Matt’s Museum of Obsolete Objects on youtube, a video archive of obsolete objects; I still own and use many of the items in the Museum such as the phonograph, polaroid camera and radio receiver. I received a wind up Gramophone for my Birthday which I love, not only because it’s old and beautiful but I also have a reason to collect old 78s!

Thank you to all those who have contributed to the Information Graphics & Visualisation Community on CoP and I hope to see you on the other side at the Knowledge Hub.

About Richard Overy

Photographer, Collector & Creative
This entry was posted in Infographics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

